Abstract Nonsense

Crushing one theorem at a time

My plans for the summer


This summer I will attempt to do all the problems in:

Rudin’s  Principles of Mathematical Analysis (Baby Rudin)

Dummit and Foote’s Abstract Algebra (The group theory section, at least)

Munkre’s General Topology

These are mostly for my benefit, but hopefully some others will enjoy seeing the problems.

I don’t know why I chose to start doing Munkre’s like I did, I will restart it even though I have done all the problems up to chapter two section 20 (I’m OCD haha)

Also, since I am mostly into topology I will do a lot of problems (not as religiously, straight through the book) out of

O. Ya. Viro, O. A. Ivanov, N. Yu. Netsvetanev, and V. M. Kharlamov’s Elmentary Topology: Problem Textbook

I know this ambitious to say the least,but what I get done…I get done. Hope you enjoy!

June 12, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Cool! I always enjoy watching other people do hard work. : ) Though I may have to set my own goals now. Good luck!

    Comment by Ragnarok | June 13, 2010 | Reply

    • Thank you! I hope you do! If so, let me know! What are you interested in? If feel as though I ‘ve seen your name before…MHF member?

      Comment by drexel28 | June 13, 2010 | Reply

  2. Yep, I PMed you at MHF after seeing this blog – I’m the one who’s trying to teach myself math. I’m at a low level, so right now I’m “interested” in getting down the basics which I reckon you need to study just about every higher-level topic – calculus, linear algebra, etc. I’ve slowed down my rate of study recently so I think I really will make goals and let you know. Cheers!

    Comment by Ragnarok | June 13, 2010 | Reply

  3. That’s right! I remember you 🙂 (sorry I’m bad with names!). Definitely let me know!

    Comment by drexel28 | June 14, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

